Power Mower

The gas mower is on the brink so I resorted to cutting the lawn with an electric thing-a-ma-jig. Exhausting but satisfying work I must say. Pulled tons of forget-me-nots. They certainly live up to their namesake. They are everywhere and I can’t forget them even if I wanted to. Sadly, I didn’t do any container gardening today like I had planned, but I did manage to place some seeds on a sheet of paper towel, soak with water and place between a sheet of foil as another blogger suggested (enjoytimeoutdoors.com). I have some seeds dating back (I swear) to the last century so I’m testing their viability.

If they sprout, then they are good and if not then what a shame. Picked up some great container gardening books from the library today and a video on germination. I even found an old germination cell-pack in the shed that I can use if the ancient seeds decide to sprout. Can’t wait to roll up my sleeves this weekend. Hope the weather is good for the long weekend.

TO BE CONTINUED …

This entry was posted in gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Power Mower

  1. Steve says:

    Good luck with your starts! The miraculous thing is a viable seed, regardless how old, is just as good as one a week old- if they germinate.

    I saw in an old BBC show (I think it’s called Victorian Kitchen Garden, or something like that where they spent a season reviving and old Victorian Estate’s kitchen garden) germinated some seeds (peas, I think) that were decades old. Some germinated and they had success!

    Makes me want to check out the old seed jars at estate sales for old varieties…. Hmmmm, now there’s an idea! 🙂

    Your posts trigger some great ideas… Thank you again!

    • day2011 says:

      I had a peek at some of the seeds I was germinating and I saw a few sprouts. No true leaves yet but my fingers are crossed, so thanks again for the foil and paper towel tip. The Victorian Kitchen Garden program sounds really interesting and gives me hope that just about any seed is a good seed. The garlic water seems to be keeping the slugs away from the lettuce too.

      Happy Gardening.

      • Steve says:

        Congrats! That’s great news about your starts! I wonder if the garlic spray will keep the rabbits from eating my hostas…

        A word of warning-once you pot them up, be careful when you first expose them to real sunlight. My first round of Echinacia was planted under soil and emerged fine (and is still going strong)- the second round was big enough that it had starter leaves that I planted above the surface. Those got cooked on the first sunny day 😦

      • day2011 says:

        I think garlic water would be good on anything. I am going to try it on my pansies too … I don’t think rabbits are eating them though…most likely snails. I read somewhere that if you place young plants out in the sun for a few minutes and gradually increase the time over the course of a week, they will not cook in the sun.

Leave a Reply

