Companion Gardening

I picked up some very useful tips on Sunday at a “container gardening workshop” that I attended. You have to practice companion gardening. No it is not gardening with a friend or your significant other, it means grouping certain plants together in the garden to maximize your harvest. If you want to get rid of pests that are feeding on your tomatoes, then plant them beside peppers. Plant lettuce beside onions or plant onions and garlic in every other row or as border plants in your vegetable patch. I found a pesticide recipe online that I haven’t tried out yet which is essentially garlic blended with water to make a spray. Sadly, if you use cayenne pepper, it is really effective but is inhumane for some rodents (I’ll spare you the details).  Victoria Day weekend is just around the corner so I can’t wait to get into the full swing of things. I missed the annual 99 cent garden soil sale at Canadian Tire last Saturday but apparently I didn’t miss much. Sources tell me that the soil is full of weeds.

Hope I get a bumper crop this year. The efforts of my harvest are

TO BE CONTINUED

For great tips on container gardening, check out this site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Companion Gardening

  1. Steve says:

    Great idea on the garlic water spray. It doesn’t get much easier than that!

    • day2011 says:

      Thanks Steve.

      Love your site enjoytimeoutdoors.com. I wasn’t aware that you could put seeds on paper towel and cover with foil to sprout. Someone suggested putting the seeds in a sandwich bag instead. I’ll be sure to try your method. Thanks for your comment.

      Angela

      • Steve says:

        Thank you Angela! It works really well and it’s easy to keep them moist. After I wrote that I had five more seeds sprout.

        Regarding the garlic spray- I heard (in one of the podcasts I listen to) that instead of using soapy water to control pests you can use canola oil. I wonder if blending garlic in canola oil and using that as a spray will work, plus it might last longer. Just an idea…

  2. day2011 says:

    Hi Steve,

    The canola oil instead of soapy water sounds like a good idea … and adding the garlic to it is worth a try. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

