A Dish By Any Other Name

I must admit that the name “fish taco” is a little off-putting. It conjures up images of watery, tastless mouthfuls of non-meatness. I decided to put this to the test by making a fish taco myself from an episode of the Best Recipes Ever.  Kary Osmond is one the happiest chefs that I have seen, unlike the Hell’s Kitchen host who is, shall I say, quite the opposite. The recipe was dead easy with tilapia fillets seasoned with chili powder, smoked paprika, salt and pepper and the most daring of condiments — red onion and jalapeno pickle. I had a bit of trouble locating soft corn tortillas, but it all fell into place quite nicely eventually.

 Marilyn Denis had Montreal chef Ricardo doing his version of a fish taco today. It was dead easier than Kary’s and just as good minus the mango which I didn’t have. Plain old salsa worked just as well. I’m a convert.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

